Kentucky Farmers honored in first National Wheat Yield Contest

(October 2016) Kyle Bugg of Graves Co. was recognized for having the top Kentucky yield in the Winter Wheat-Dryland category in the first National Wheat Yield Contest. His yield was 123.01 bushels per acre, 89.24% above the Graves County average. 

Jeff Coke of McLean County was also recognized. His yield was 115.16 bushels per acre, 82.79% above the McLean County average, using Kidwell Steyr seed. 

There were 170 total entries from across the U.S., and the top national winners will be recognized at the Commodity Classic in San Antonio this March. For a full list of the national and state winners, click here.

The National Wheat Foundation has also announced the opening of the 2017 National Wheat Yield Contest. Registration for the fall wheat sector will end May 1, 2017. Growers should look ahead to the coming year to enter the contest and join their fellow growers in achieving the objectives of the National Wheat Yield Contest.


The Area 3 winner was Gary Summers of Simpson County, with a yield of 103.32 bu/A using SS 8340 seed.

Kentucky Small Grain Growers Association

© Copyright. All Rights Reserved

The Area 4 winner was Drew Langley of Hardin County, with a yield of 108.38bu/A using Steyer Kidwell seed.

The Area 2 winner was Hendrickson Farms of Union County, with a yield of 118.26 bu/A using Pioneer 25R77 seed.

Fresh Start Farms of Larue County had the highest no-till wheat yield in Kentucky, achieving 115.94 bu/A using SS 8340 seed.

Kyle Bugg of Bugg Farms in Graves County had the highest conventional wheat yield in Kentucky, achieving 123.01 bu/A using AgriMaxx 446 seed.

​Full Results from UK Grain Crops Extension

Kentucky Wheat Production Contest

Kentucky Entry Info

Any person who produces ten (10) acres or more of wheat in Kentucky is eligible for the Kentucky Extension Wheat Production Contest. A producer may make more than one entry if the entries are from different fields or farms. However, a producer or farming unit will only be eligible for one award.

The contest is divided into two divisions: Division I: Conventional or Minimum tillageDivision II: No-tillage, defined as “wheat seeded into undisturbed soil (no preplant tillage of any form allowed) following harvest of corn or soybeans in the fall. The corn stalks may be chopped in some manner.”

​To enter, the producer must submit a record of all production practices with the yield certification form. A minimum of three (3) acres, all in Kentucky, must be harvested from a continuously planted area with four straight sides if possible. Reasonable variations will be acceptable. Official yields shall consist of the weight of the harvested wheat on certified public scales, corrected to 13.5% moisture and converted to bushels per acre. The County Extension Agent for Agriculture or designated representative is responsible for verifying the yield and agronomic data of each entry from that county.

​The Certified Agronomic Data and Yield Form should be completed and sent to the state office as soon as possible after harvest but no later than July 25, 2016 by the county extension agent or designated person.State awards are given to the highest yield in each division, and area awards are given to the top entry (which was not a state winner) in each of the four wheat production areas.

Cash awards from the Kentucky Small Grain Growers Association will be made only to those who attend the Annual Awards Banquet at the 2017 Kentucky Commodity Conference. The producer with the highest yield may also be recognized at the 2017 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, TX and participate in Whayne Supply’s Best of the Best program.

Official entry form and complete rules.

The Kentucky Extension Wheat Contest began in 1987 and the highest yield that year was 89.10 bushels per acre submitted by Johnny Dawson. In 1997 the contest began providing awards for tillage and no-tillage divisions. 

If you have questions about the wheat yield contest, please contact your county extension agent.

National Wheat Yield Contest

You may also be interested in the national contents. Learn more.